Drunk Driving Charges and Penalties

 DUI DWI Criminal Defense Law Charges

For anyone who took the Nevada drivers test, the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit should not be a surprise. The BAC limit is .08% for 21 years and older and .02% for those under 21 years old.

Beware. Alcohol is not the only substance to be cautious of. Drivers can be arrested and convicted if operating a vehicle after consuming other intoxicants like marijuana and cocaine. Whether you or a family member were driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated/impaired (DWI), these are serious offences. In Nevada, drunk driving is the largest cause of motor vehicle fatalities.

Nevada laws are strict on drunk driving.

 

First Offense

Drivers over 21 years old and arrested of a DUI/DWI are likely facing criminal charges. The first offense DUI/DWI is a Misdemeanor. The driver will likely spend two days to six months in jail, pay up to $1000 fine, and be subject to community service hours. Additionally, if the driver is convicted of DUI or DWI their life will change in the following ways:

-          Their driver’s license will be revoked for 90 days

-          The driver will have to pay for and attend DUI school

-          They may be required to undergo a treatment program

 

Second Offense

If the second offense occurs within seven years, the DUI/DWI will be treated as a Misdemeanor. The driver will spend anywhere from ten days to six months behind bars and owe a $1000 fine. Additionally, if the driver is convicted of a second DUI or DWI the following is likely to occur:

-          Their driver’s license will be revoked for one year

-          The driver will be required to complete 100-200 hours of community service within a period set by the Court

-          The driver will have to pay for and attend DUI school

-          They may be required to undergo a supervised treatment program for up to one year

 

Third Offense

The third and any subsequent offenses are treated as a Class B Felony. This would result in imprisonment for a minimum of one year to six years. In addition to a $2000-$5000 fine, the third (or more) offense will result in:

-          A revoked driver’s license for three years

-          Suspended vehicle registration

-          Community Service hours

-          A three-year treatment program

Note: In some cases, convicted drivers may be eligible for a Restricted License for the sole purposes of getting to work and picking up children. 

 

Nevada DUI Attorney

If children are present in the vehicle or an accident or injury occurred while driving under the influence, you may be hit with the maximum penalties.  If you have been charged with a DUI or DWI get help from a DUI/DWI attorney. Attorney Mathew Work is a former criminal prosecutor and can help you fight a DUI/DWI charge.