Child Neglect in Nevada

How does one define child abuse in the state of Nevada? The Merriam-Webster definition of neglect is to give little attention and or respect to and or disregard.  Neglect is also defined as to leave undone and unattended to.  Now how is the definition used in correlation to child abuse in the state of Nevada? It is clearly defined under the Nevada Revised Statue 200.508 with the Nevada Revised Statue 193.130 referenced as well.

The NRS 200.508 defines child abuse as a person who cause unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering to a child under the age of 18 and or puts a child in a situation where physical pain and or mental suffering is done to under age child.  There are subsections to the NRS that define the law more in depth and how said penalties are applied for someone in violation of the statute.

It is considered felony child abuse if a minor under the age of 14 is sexually abused and or exploited in a sexual nature. The penalty of said abuse is life with parole and parole can be reached after 15 years being served. Now if it considered a class B felony the penalty for said abuse is 2 years and no more than 20 years.

Now if the mental and or physical harm is not substantial to the child and is a class b felony the terms of penalty now differ if the person has no criminal history of child abuse and is said first offense the person in question will receive a sentence of one year and no more of six years, if said person has a history and criminal record of child neglect the penalty for a class b felony is a minimum of two years and no more than fifteen years.

If a person who is responsible for the welfare of a child and willing knows and or allows the abuse to occur there are penalties for said person. If the child is under the age of 14 and has been sexually abused and or exploited the punishment is life with the possibility of parole after ten years being served.  If the abuse is not of the sexual nature the penalty for said person is a minimum of two years and no more than twenty years.

If the person that knew of the abuse and or allowed the abuse and is not substantial to the child in question can be consider a gross misdemeanor and not a felony as long as the person has no history of said crime. If the person has a history of child abuse of this degree and has not cause substantial harm to the child then the person is guilty of a Class C Felony under NRS 193.130. The time served for a Class C felony is one year and no more than five years with a fine of up to 10,000.00 dollars imposed unless specified differently.  

Jamie Ward