RENO’S TOP DUI ATTORNEYS
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Nevada can result in a DUI charge. A blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater can automatically constitute a DUI charge under Nevada law, however a motorist under the influence of any amount of alcohol or drugs can be charged with a DUI if their driving ability is impaired.
An officer must have probable cause in order to stop a motorist. Probable cause may come from erratic driving or disobeying traffic laws, or it can come from motor vehicle compliance issues such as a broken tail light or a missing license plate. An attorney at Carlson & Work can assist with analyzing the facts of your case to determine whether an office had probable cause and property requested consent to search as a result of probable cause.
DUI CHARGE CONSEQUENCES
Nevada takes DUI Charges seriously and can be strict about the penalties regarding the charge.
A first DUI offense is considered a misdemeanor and could result in 2 days to 6 months in jail or several hours of community service. A driver charged with their first DUI offense will likely be fined anywhere from $400 to $100 and a 185 day driver’s license suspension.
A second DUI offense is considered a misdemeanor as well and could result in 10 days to 6 months in jail or house arrest. After a driver’s second DUI offense, they are required to attend a DUI court alcohol or drug abuse treatment program. A second DUI offense will also result in a $750 to $1000 fine as well as a 1 year suspension of driver’s license among other suspensions and penalties.
A third DUI offense is considered a Class B Felony and will result in 1 to 6 years in prison. A driver charged with a third DUI offense will be charged with $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, and are required to receive an alcohol/drug dependency evaluation. A third DUI offense will result in either a 3 year driver’s license suspension or a revocation of the license.
If you are involved in a DUI that causes serious injuries or death, you will be charged with a Class B Felony and sentenced to several years in prison. It is clear to see that if you have been charged with a DUI, you should contact an experienced DUI attorney to assist you with the charges.
DEFENSE LAW BLOG RESOURCES
How to Apply for a TPO in Nevada Temporary protection orders allow victims of assault, child abuse, violence, harassment, or stalking to keep their abusers
DUI: Driving under the influence. DWI: Driving while impaired (intoxicated). To many people, this may seem like driving after having any alcoholic beverage is grounds